Facebook vs. Blogging

I’m curious about Facebook vs. Blogging comments. Do people generally comment more on Facebook than on blogs? If the answer is yes, I wonder if it’s because of the anonymity of a blog.

A friend (both friend and “friend”) recently posted a Facebook question: What are the characteristics of a friendly person? She got several answers. I wonder: If she had a blog and posted the question there would she have gotten as many replies?

My stream of consciousness brings to mind what our group studied yesterday. The Talmud teaches: “If you’re giving a gift to a friend, let him or her know you’re giving it.” Rav Kook explains (Ein Aya Shabbat 10b) that a person might feel he wants to give anonymously and altruistically. He doesn’t want the acknowledgment because he’s afraid the lavish praise he’s going to get will go to his head.

So what’s wrong with that kind of thinking? Why should he tell the person about it in spite of this personal concern for preserving his humility? The reason why he should tell the person he’s giving him a gift, and not give it anonymously is because he shouldn’t only think about his own spiritual sensitivity but also think about how his actions will affect the other. It’s better to have the policy of telling people you’re giving them a gift (assuming it’s a gift between equals and not charity because in that case the friend might be embarrassed) because the recipient will have good feelings towards the giver and this will increase the atmosphere of love and good will in the world.

In discussing this we thought of a couple of personal experiences that showed the truth of this. Somehow when the gift is given anonymously it’s not the same. We’ll feel gratitude but we won’t have a concrete person to feel gratitude towards.

It seems to be the same way with Facebook. People like to comment to someone they know personally. When it’s a blog and you don’t know who you’re writing to there isn’t the same sense of connection. Who is this blog person anyway?

Another strand in my stream of consciousness was: Hmmm, her question reminds me of a question that’s on my mind: What motivates a person to want to be responsible? and What are the characteristics of a responsible person? If I would pose these questions on the blog would I get any answers? And if I would ask it on Facebook, what then?

If readers of this blog would not comment, why not? Is it the anonymity of it or is there some other reason?

Well, readers, you have the floor…

Meanwhile I will post the questions on Facebook and see what I get.

This entry was posted in logotherapy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook vs. Blogging

  1. Personally, I think it all comes down to brevity and the fast paced environment of Facebook. I have bookmarked several blog posts I really want to read “someday” but do not always find the time to do it, while with my large Facebook audience, I can see the posts and quickly get an idea, a quote, a thought, an update from a friend and move forward and move on through the day.

    It’s crazy this world we live in with hyperconnectivity, noise everywhere, hundreds of Emails daily. If I want to read, I take my books and go outside, I don’t take my computer for blogs! However, as you can see, this is a topic that really interests me. There is a big debate in the USA now, has Facebook replaced Emails? In my world it has! You?

    • logogroup says:

      In spite of the fast-paced world, you’ve found a bit of time to comment on this blog more than once, and I appreciate that. I’ve also enjoyed your posters on Facebook. So I guess I too benefit from the quick getting an idea so I can move on with my busy day. For me, Facebook is something I only look at when my email tells me I got a message. The bulk of it just makes me dizzy. And I don’t think it really works for the kind of in-depth discussion I’m looking for. Maybe some things are still best done in a physical space or at least a virtual space of a teleconference course. In short, thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

