Words: An Allusion to the Unsaid

Looking for a quote I came across a beautiful website about living life fully.

I had been looking for a poem by Blake which I mistakenly thought was written by e.e.Cummings and also mistakenly thought it included something about seeing the ocean in a drop of water. Perhaps someone knows of something Cummings wrote about seeing the ocean in a drop of water?

Here is the poem:

To see a World in a grain of sand,
And a Heaven in a wild flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand,
And Eternity in an hour.

William Blake

What led me to this was a task on my plate of writing something short that encompasses something vast. I thought about how in today’s day and age people need sound bites. But a moment after that disgruntled thought I became undisgruntled and reminded myself that one can see the ocean in a drop of water and a world in a grain of sand. If I can only see the essence of an idea I can condense it. The hardest thing to write is to write something short that holds within it something so large that no container of words is enough. The words are essential yet we understand at the same time that they cannot express it.

This is the beauty of poetry. This is also the beauty of listening. The words a person uses contain worlds of meaning… This is also the beauty of writing. To the extent that I can grasp something in its fullness I can write about it concisely. Words are more of an allusion to the unsaid than to what is said. Once something is said the search for meaning only begins.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

