Script writing lesson number two

Continuing to think about what my daughter taught me about script writing, I came up with five ideas about logotherapy that I would like to convey:

1) What is the meaning of the spiritual dimension? I would need to create a story depicting courage, the defiant spirit, love and other human strengths. What makes logotherapy different from any positive psychology or coaching approach that puts an emphasis on human strengths?

2) What makes recognition of the unconscious relation to God a therapeutically sound orientation? Why is this not a case of psychology impinging on religion?

3) What is our image of man and how does that influence how we live? How does it bring healing when we recognize and evoke human goodness? Where do we see that this attitude is essential and transformative? What does it essentially add to an analytical or cognitive-behavioral approach?

4) We are connected by meaning. How do we understand this in relation to synchronicity in our life, global events and the therapeutic encounter?

5) What is the meaning of meaning in 7-10 words?

The second lesson my daughter taught me was that I need to write a condensed, very clear description of the idea for myself first. For example “Crime does not pay.” Then I need to think of a scenario, a way of showing the character struggling with this idea throughout, and all along the way I also meed to depict him considering the opposite value. In our example it would be “Crime does pay.” At the end the character comes to the conclusion that crime does not pay. But there has to be evidence to the contrary throughout, because otherwise it will come across as didactic and moralizing.

Thus, for each of these five ideas I need a clear formulation for myself, and then I need to think of a scenario where the idea is played out and I need to formulate how the opposite is played out in a way that also seems to be an option.

So far I have thought of a slightly better formulation for (3) and a certain aspect of (4)

Point #3: If you see yourself as good you will be good.

Point #4: If you reflect on your life you will know what to say yes to and what to say no to.

This entry was posted in logotherapy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

