Where is your passion?

Since I’ve been writing about gratitude the thought “Be appreciative for what he is giving you even though he’s only doing his job” was going around in my mind. It occurred to me that any job has aspects of doing it for the money and doing it because you enjoy what you’re doing.

If I imagine for a minute not getting paid for my job, would I still want to do it? My answer might be “no” simply because I need the money and I can’t afford to work without getting paid. But if we can put that factor aside, assuming I didn’t need the money: Is this how I want to be spending my life or am I only doing it for the money and for no other reason?

The answer for most people is probably not so clear-cut. It’s on a scale and it’s important to decide:

a) What is the degree of passion I have in this job? and

b) What is the degree of passion I’m willing to accept having? It doesn’t have to be a hundred percent, but what does it have to be?

This entry was posted in logotherapy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

