Life turns on a dime

Today was one of those days that reminded me how everything can turn on a dime. I write this morning because I was away on a nature hike to a place in the Judean desert called Nachal Og. There is a soft, majestic beauty to the desert mountains in Israel. From above they fold into each other. From below the rock formations are impressive. I am refreshed by climbing up and down, turning a corner where suddenly a new vista opens up before me.

I was feeling on top of the world. Then, on my way home, one news item and everything turned around on this sunny day. Terrible tragedy hit the Carmel region of Haifa. A fire raging out of control. Since this is not a news blog I won’t go into the details here. The purpose here is to write from the standpoint of meaning. Right now my emotions are raging like that fire. Right now my emotions are the meaning.

It’s hard to tie them down and put them into order but I’ll try, even if they’re not in order. Recently I had been writing about my trip to Switzerland. There’s a place in Israel called “Little Switzerland.” It’s so lush and green, so inviting, so lovely. What a loss! I was so looking forward to going back there. I was planning on getting there one day soon…

They evacuated Kibbutz Beit Oren. Here is what it used to look like. Now it’s almost completely gone. A bus helping to evacuate people from a prison went up in flames. About 40 people dead, just like that. I’m so sad. I don’t know what to do with myself. From 4:30 until now, 11:45 I haven’t been able to sit down and write. I’m listening to the radio as if there will be something new but all that is new can only be worse. Five thousand people evacuated from their homes. and the fire is continuing to spread. What will be by tomorrow morning? What will be?!

My heart goes out to all the residents in the north of the country. As always, when tragedy hits everyone rallies to help. Can’t we get the hang of this love thing all the time and not just when calamity strikes?!!

Other countries are even sending fire-fighting planes. They like us when we’re in desperate straits. And how did this fire start? Simultaneously in three different places sounds like arson to me. I’m angry about that. They’re not even talking about that. We’re in a terrible state with not having any rain. If only it would rain now, it would put out the fires…

Now I will go to sleep and wake up to more bad news. But first I will pray.

Batya

This entry was posted in logotherapy, Personal experiences, World events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

