Not by my power

To continue from where we left off yesterday, the three beliefs that lead to a basic trust in God and trust in life are:

a) I believe that I can’t do anything without God’s help. It’s not by my power that I accomplish anything.

b) I believe that God cares whether or not I do the right thing and there is a consequence to everything I do. What I do matters.

c) I believe that God both understands me and demands of me. I know that I am extremely fallible; at the same time I know that I am capable of thinking things through carefully.

In all three aspects of belief in God we can use a language of God-consciousness (the first statement in a, b, and c above) or we can use a language of the human experience – with or without God-consciousness (the second statement in a, b, and c above).

The first aspect of belief was the mantra with which I set out for my morning jog: I believe that I can’t do anything without God’s assistance. It’s not by my power that I accomplish anything. On my own I am
powerless; my power comes from God. I also believe that God wants to help me right now.

Jogging, coordinating between muscle groups, blood flowing, balance, gym shoes hitting the pavement, all this and much more God has given me. More than physical energy is my spirit wanting to soar

Not by my power…

The same spirit makes me love to dance. I don’t want just any kind of songs to dance to. I want songs that stir something deep within me until an irresistible urge with every fiber of my being screams out “I absolutely must get up and dance.” Not too many songs answer to that. I was just telling a friend I feel that way about Paul Simon’s “Late in the Evening” or “You can call me Al.” Maybe someone reading this blog will tell me “If you liked those, then you’ll really like…” This friend told me that she once heard Paul Simon give a lecture where he said he spent his whole life looking for just the right rhythm and that “Late in the Evening” was “almost it.”

Not by my power…

I smell the wet earth from a garden newly watered and the fragrant flowers along the wall that God has sprinkled along my path.

Not by my power…

I want to organize a logotherapy workshop today. I hope my colleagues will have time…

Not by my power…

Knowing that God wants to help me reminds me of Teria’s words from our most recent course meeting: She spoke about the first consciousness being the awareness that God has given you life for a good purpose. He’s given you everything you need to be able to find Him with full understanding. As logotherapists we accompany fellow travelers on their journeys without telling them where they have to get to. We trust that God is absolutely involved in every person’s life. Meaning comes to us at every moment.

What is the content of life at every moment? We awake to the tasks and responsibilities that are there to be met. Situations come to us that we are to make meaningful sense of. Looking back, we see that we’ve learned much through our pains and disappointments. God has brought me through all of these experiences so that I will know He is and so that I will know I am because He is.

Not by my power…

I pass by two walkers as I’m jogging. They’re complaining about money, just as they were the last time I passed them. I silently wish them a good livelihood.

Not by my power…

Thinking of what God has brought me through makes me think of the words of Nietzsche: “Every story must have an aim; hence also the history of a people and the history of the world. That means: because there is “world history” there must also be some aim in the world process.” (The Portable Nietzsche, Kaufmann, p. 40) I will add that every individual life must have an aim.

Not by my power…

Batya

This entry was posted in Healing process, logotherapy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

