Reaching out

We can see an infant reaching out to make contact with the world. This is the will to meaning being expressed. Meaning is always out there, not just something I make up. One aspect of reaching out is commenting on other people’s blogs. I didn’t know what I was going to write about today, but I started to look for other blogs where people were interested in the same kinds of things I was. This is a blog I found and this was my comment:

I love the way you think deeply about things! Being Jewish, I’m familiar with the 613 commandments. A lot of them are applicable only in certain circumstances but what people don’t realize is that most of them are about how to love. Love is in the details of how to help a person or not harm a person. But that’s not enough either because if people are just sticking their noses in the book all the time, they won’t notice opportunities and they won’t think about your question, i.e. we need to pay attention to what’s in front of us.

I want to add two more points here.

a) One of the essential ingredients in the commandment to love is to pay attention. The need of the other is defined by what they feel they need and not what I think they need. In other words we might name this commandment attentiveness.

b) Logotherapy helps us pay attention to what’s in front of us. Other therapeutic approaches run the risk of getting people too bogged down in what they’re feeling and stay stuck there. Our emotions give us messages but then we have to move on to asking what they’re telling us and what we want and need to do together with what opportunity the situation presents to us.

Batya

This entry was posted in logotherapy, Therapeutic skills and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

