Shivers

One of the ways in which I experience my connection to meaning is a bit peculiar. Often when I think or speak of something that has authentic meaning for me, I get shivers down my spine. For example, this may happen in prayer, in discussing religious philosophy, or when sensing a “meeting of souls” in intimate conversation. This is not always present when meanings are validated by their coherence with an overall picture of a situation, but when the shivers do occur, their spontaneity and physical reality gives me a clear signal that I am “tuned in”.

Do others have a similar physical signal that jingles a meaning bell? What’s yours?
(Submitted by Aryeh Siegel)

This entry was posted in logotherapy, Personal experiences and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

