How are you?

Today I went to the pharmacy. Ordinary. Mundane. Not much profound meaning to be found there, right? A few people were helping wait on the folks in line. So when the owner said to me “How are you?” my first thought was “He must not know that someone is already filling my order.” It took a minute for it to register in my head that he was being friendly. Are we really just clerks and consumers exchanging commodities like a candy machine? Or are we human beings connecting to one another with all the stuff of life moving around between us? “I’m doing good. Thanks. How are you?” I said. His answer: “Good enough to ask someone else how they are and not just think of myself.” (submitted by Batya)

This entry was posted in logotherapy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

